Postcards of Rhode Island, ca. 1898-1918
The Postcards of Rhode Island collection is provided as a courtesy by the Historical Society of Smithfield, Smithfield, RI. The collection was discovered in what is now known as the Smith-Appleby House. The house, dating to 1696, is one of the earliest remaining structures still standing in Rhode Island.
The original house, built by Elisha Smith (1680–1766), remained in the Smith-Appleby family until the mid-twentieth century when after changing hands several times the homestead was finally acquired in 1976 by the Historical Society of Smithfield.
Maria Cozzens Appleby (1888-1959), the last family member to occupied the old home, collected the postcards as a young lady and oftentimes illustrated her diaries with them. The original collection consists of hundreds of postcards, many of which are postmarked and annotated. Explore turn of the 20th century Rhode Island through the eyes of an avid postcard collector of the day.